top of page

JAPAN: Part 1

Finally Japan, a country I've always dreamt to visit. This is why I decided to stop and stay here for a while, choosing Tokyo as my base camp.

The capital of Japan is infamous to be expensive but "luckily" I found a job in a hostel as a cleaner so at least I don't have to worry about the rent.

the "Toilet Man"

From the first hours in Tokyo I immediately understood the communication would have been a problem. Even in a big and developed city like this one it's very rare to find a japanese person who can speak english.

I thought that this was a good reason to sign up a japanese language course to learn, at least, the basis to survive.

Officially a japanese student

Going back to school was harder than I expected, especially studying japanese!

Everyday, after my shift at the hostel I run to school for my lesson where I repeated for 4 damn hours the same words, a nightmare!

Now it's clear to me why japanese don't like studying foreign languages!

I lived for almost two months in one of the best districts of Tokyo: ASAKUSA

Here you can still find traditional buildings from the "Edo Period", when the militaries ("Shogunate") ruled the country from 1603 to 1868.

The main sights of this area are:

the "Sky Tree",

with its 634 m, it is the tallest broadcasting tower in the world and the second tallest structure after the "Burj Khalifa".

TIP: The observatory at the top of the tower calls thousand of tourists every day, but only few know that at the first level you can find an amazing food court that around 8pm clears any kind of japanese delicacies. Try every sort of sushi, only here you could buy it for few yen.

Day

....and night

...and the "Sensoji Temple"

This is the Tokyo's oldest buddhist temple and I had the chance to pass through it almost everyday because it was just 5 minutes from my place.

Devotees

This is the "Kaminarimon", the gate who leads to the temple through "Nakamise Dori", a touristy street stuffed with souvenirs but also amazing japanese pastries

The giant lantern hanged at the gate

Very close to Asakusa district there is UENO, known for its wonderful park and the oldest zoo in Japan.

Here some pictures of the zoo.

I didn't go to a zoo since when I was 5, I remebered a magic place where you could see the king of the jungle, giant animals from the savannah, animals from the coldest corners of the world.

Now I'm 24 and I see only prisoners with no guilts who are drove crazy by the cages, they go up ad down, left and right, relentless, without understand why they are not wild anymore and neither do I...

Talking about "animals", there is one who is very famous in Japan: Godzilla!

Around the city there are some statues of this moster who destroyed Tokyo several times:

The first one is situated in Shinjuku at the top of the Hotel "Gracery". You can climb up and see closely the head of Godzilla.

This one is close to Roppongi station

Now, let's go back to Ueno and walk around 20 minutes to reach another landmark of Tokyo:

AKIHABARA

This district is known also as: "the electronic town". There is any electronic product you are thinking you would like and usually, they are cheaper because most of them are made in here.

Hordes of people come here everyday to buy the newest camera or the coolest videogames. if you want to see the famous "cosplays", here is the place you want to go.

Among the geeks you could also have the chance to meet a sumo champion, rare to meet and usually difficult to approach.

Restless Akihabara

One of the most crowded places in here are the SEGA WORLD, paradises for videogames addicted.

Here I met very "interesting" human beings..... enjoy the videos!

....dancing queens!

Next sight to visit after Akihabara oddity is the EDO CASTLE, the residence of the emperor of Japan: Akihito. (I forgot to take a picture of the palace but it's a small detail I guess).

Park around the castle

The suggestive gate through which you leave the traditions to enter in the modern one.

5 minutes walking and you can reach GINZA district, the most fashionable and expensive district in town.

Even if Tokyo doesn't have a real downtown, Ginza is often chosen as it for its central position on the map.

if you have a good camera (not like my phone), I suggest you to come here at night to take the best pictures of thousands of neon ligths that decorate the sides of the streets.

TSUKIJI fish market

The biggest fishmarket in the wold has been smartly transformed as a "must" destination for tourist. If you are willing to attend the famous "tuna auction", you need to go to the market around 3 a.m. to be sure to get a pass (free pass). Yes, because everyday the market management offers around 100 pass to enter in the market during the busiest hour and experience the amosphere of the hectic trade that goes on every morning.

Once you are sure to be part of the few fortunate people, you have to wait until 5 a.m. when the auctions starts. Luckily for me I was in good company:

The sexier one is Joe, companion of thousand adventures in India. We met again, here in Tokyo and it was like rewinding the film of my journey; we passed trhough so many craziness together that we couldn't stop reminding "that time when...". Such a pleasent feeling.

The other hot chick ;) is Rob, Joe's friend, another real traveller. I would call him: "the King of the karaoke" and he knows why.

Once the auction is over, the tradition says to wait until 9 a.m. when the sushi restaurants open their doors for the customers. There is no doubt that here you will find the ultimate freshest sushi at a reasonable price but be ready to wait around an hour to taste it.

I went to "Sushi Dai", one of the most renowned and it definitely worth it.

SHIBUYA

One of the best districts for shopping and night life, same as ROPPONGI and SHINJUKU.

Shibuya is also famous for having the busiest crossing in the world.

Watching people scramble is a real entertainment, especially when you observe it from above.

To have a privileged perspective, go to the first floor of "Starbucks", here you can have a few minutes before the staff kick you out if you don't order anything.

This pic was from a different day from a farer position, but still, I like it

It's not the most important thing to do in here but if you have lots of time like me you can go to visit the "Toilet Museum"!!!!

If you have never been in Japan you don't know they have the best toilets ever and the main brand is "TOTO".

I'll show you how to use them:

ROPPONGI

All the best clubs and all the wildest happy hours are here. These are one of the reasons why I don't have any picture of it but I do have involuntary videos of me completely drunk at the "Don Quijote" store.

"Sports equipment" dipartment

"Don Quijote" store is probably the funniest store in Japan. It is open 24/7 and you can buy ANYTHING.

Angelica and I wanted to take a picture but this is how it ended up....

SHINJUKU

This is another meeting place for the young japanese and of course tourists.

Beyond the myriad of shops, restaurants and clubs, here you can get the best FREE panorama of the city.

Everyday visitors can go up until the 45th floor of the "Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building" and enjoy an amazing view.

ODAIBA

This artificial island is a little bit far from the core of the city but it's really pretty.

You can take gorgeus pictures at the replica of the "Statue of liberty" pretending, with the friends who are never been in the states, you changed your mind and you flew to Manhattan.

Behind the statue there is the "rainbow bridge", just beautiful during the night with its crazy lights.

For the fans of "Mazinger z", in Odaiba there is also space for a giant statue of one of the most famous robots ever.

PARKS

Nestled among the skyscrapers, there are the best parks I've ever seen.

"Shinjuku Gyoen" National Park

"Yoyogi" park entrance

PUBLIC TRANSPORTATIONS

Moving around Tokyo it's easy and the service is great.

Carriages are very clean (eating on the trains is forbidden), waiting time is always little and you can get free wifi, BUT, it's one of the most expensive subways I've even seen.

Nevertheless I enjoyed it because I had the chance to have my window on japanese society.

In Japan, they are concerned for everything, this is the reason why in every station you will find a ridicolous numbers of employees that make sure everyone will get on and off and none get hurt..........

Baby students in the traditional uniform

Sometimes you are so lucky to meet people who worth all the money spent in train tickets, like this guy here:

THANK YOU MY HERO

FOOD

I cannot describe in words the density of restaurants in Tokyo, to give you an idea, at first sight it looks like there is one restaurant each japanese.

I have to say, though, that the average quality of the food is very high, it's like a paradise for the gourmets and contrary to what you could think, everything is very cheap, except for the sushi of course.

Only in Japan you could go to "Michelin" starred restaurants, eating the finest delicacies for less than 15$.

"Nakajima" restaurant in Shinjuku

Angelica, the wax statue behind me, was the best buddy I could ever wish to meet. I enjoyed so much with her and we tried every kind of japanese food, we could seriously write a food guide.

"Kyourakutei" restaurant, close to Lidabashi station

This is another very famous and affordable starred restaurant.

"Cold soba"(the noodles in the picture) became one of my favourite foods and I know Angelica agrees with me.

Moreover there is no price eating and watching these "artists" at work. Amazing!

"Kaneko Hannosuke", close to Ginza station

One of the best tempura in town for less than 10$.

the usual "wax statue" and I


bottom of page